Skip to content
Atlas Abierto

Illes Balears · 07024

Formentera

Loading the map…

Population on January 1, 2025
  1. no data

What stands out

  • Population aged 65 or over · 202513.9 %ranks 4 from the bottom, of 67 in its province · Source
  • Gini index · 202435.7 pointsranks 4 of 67 in its province, from highest · Source
  • Median monthly rent of a flat · 2024850 €ranks 4 of 57 in its province, from highest · Source
  • Tourist dwellings as a share of all dwellings · 2026-0512 %ranks 5 of 67 in its province, from highest · Source

Compared with the municipalities of the same province that have a figure for that year. A high or low position doesn't explain why.

Age, origin and households

Households and demographic structure

Average household size
2.7
Single-person households
32.4 %
Average age
42.1 years
Under 18
14.3 %
65 and over
13.9 %
Spanish nationals
71.8 %

on January 1, 2025 · INE Household Income Distribution Atlas, population in family dwellings on 1 January. Series from January 1, 2016. Up to 2020, INE is missing some municipal values and the municipalities don't add up to the provincial total.

Net migration in 2024

final · Source

Total
+180
With abroad
+153
With other municipalities
+27

People who moved into the municipality minus those who moved out, over the whole year. A negative value means more left than arrived. Births and deaths aren't included.

Income declared for income tax, 2024

final · Source

Mean gross income
38,279 €
Median gross income
24,499 €
Mean disposable income
30,354 €
Median disposable income
20,489 €

5,080 tax returns. Per tax return, from the Spanish Tax Agency. It only counts people who file an income tax return, not the whole population, and it excludes the Basque Country and Navarra, which collect their own taxes. Disposable income deducts the tax and social security contributions.

Dwellings · 2021 census

on January 1, 2021 · final · Source

6,969 conventional family dwellings.

Main residences
61.7%
Not a main residence
38.3%
Empty by electricity use
37.8%
Occasional use
8.7%

Shares calculated from INE's total. «Empty» is INE's classification by low electricity use; it doesn't mean the home is for sale or rent.

Median rent, 2024

final · Source

Flat, per month
850 €
Flat, per m²
13.6 €/m²
House, per month
908 €
Flat, change on the year before
+4.1 %

Ministry of Housing (SERPAVI): median rent of main homes declared in income-tax returns. Older leases are included, so it usually sits below asking prices. Based on 281 rented flats.

Rent, 2024

final · Source

Annual change in rent
+2.5 %
Index
118.9

INE's rental housing price index, built on income tax returns. It measures how rents change in the municipality, not what they cost.

Births and deaths, 2024

status not stated · Source

Births
73
Deaths
49
Natural change
+24

By municipality of residence (the mother's, for births). Natural change is the difference between the two and leaves out people moving in or out.

Tourist dwellings, May 2026

final · Source

Dwellings
839
Beds
4,069
Of all dwellings
12.04 %

Experimental INE statistic: homes listed on short-term rental platforms. It isn't a licence register and doesn't measure occupancy.

Registered unemployment · September 2026

status not stated · Source

People registered as unemployed
106
Compared with September 2025
+2.9 %

Unemployed job seekers registered with SEPE on the last day of the month. It isn't the EPA unemployment rate, and it isn't divided by population because there is no official municipal denominator.

Social Security affiliates · August 2026

status not stated · Source

Affiliates
7,726
Compared with August 2025
+2.1 %

Affiliates on the last day of the month, assigned to the municipality of the employer's contribution account: it counts where people work, not where they live.

Education level · 2024

on January 1, 2024 · final · Source

Primary or less
13%
Lower secondary
29%
Upper secondary or post-secondary
28%
Higher education
30%

Share of residents aged 15+ by highest level completed, on 1 January. Each share is computed over the same census total.

Primary care

on December 31, 2025 · final · Source

Health centres
1
Local surgeries
0

Public health system centres in the municipality according to the Ministry of Health catalogue. Zero means there are none: the catalogue lists them all. Residents may be assigned to a centre in another municipality of their basic health area.

Atlas Abierto