Illes Balears · 07048
Sant Josep de sa Talaia
Loading the map…
What stands out
- Population aged 65 or over · 202513.6 %ranks 2 from the bottom, of 67 in its province · Source
- Median monthly rent of a flat · 2024905 €ranks 2 of 57 in its province, from highest · Source
- Net migration per 1,000 residents · 20244 per 1,000 residentsranks 9 from the bottom, of 67 in its province · Source
- Natural growth per 1,000 residents · 20241.9 per 1,000 residentsranks 10 of 67 in its province, from highest · Source
Compared with the municipalities of the same province that have a figure for that year. A high or low position doesn't explain why. Rates per 1,000 residents are our calculation from INE counts and the census population on 1 January of the same year.
Age, origin and households
Households and demographic structure
- Average household size
- 2.7
- Single-person households
- 30.8 %
- Average age
- 41.3 years
- Under 18
- 15.6 %
- 65 and over
- 13.6 %
- Spanish nationals
- 75.8 %
on January 1, 2025 · INE Household Income Distribution Atlas, population in family dwellings on 1 January. Series from January 1, 2016. Up to 2020, INE is missing some municipal values and the municipalities don't add up to the provincial total.
Net migration in 2024
final · Source
- Total
- +123
- With abroad
- +353
- With other municipalities
- -230
People who moved into the municipality minus those who moved out, over the whole year. A negative value means more left than arrived. Births and deaths aren't included.
Income declared for income tax, 2024
final · Source
- Mean gross income
- 38,290 €
- Median gross income
- 26,917 €
- Mean disposable income
- 30,250 €
- Median disposable income
- 22,239 €
14,927 tax returns. Per tax return, from the Spanish Tax Agency. It only counts people who file an income tax return, not the whole population, and it excludes the Basque Country and Navarra, which collect their own taxes. Disposable income deducts the tax and social security contributions.
Dwellings · 2021 census
on January 1, 2021 · final · Source
15,683 conventional family dwellings.
- Main residences
- 70.6%
- Not a main residence
- 29.4%
- Empty by electricity use
- 21.4%
- Occasional use
- 5.4%
Shares calculated from INE's total. «Empty» is INE's classification by low electricity use; it doesn't mean the home is for sale or rent.
Median rent, 2024
final · Source
- Flat, per month
- 905 €
- Flat, per m²
- 14.6 €/m²
- House, per month
- 1,125 €
- Flat, change on the year before
- +3.9 %
Ministry of Housing (SERPAVI): median rent of main homes declared in income-tax returns. Older leases are included, so it usually sits below asking prices. Based on 1,363 rented flats.
Rent, 2024
final · Source
- Annual change in rent
- +3.8 %
- Index
- 126.7
INE's rental housing price index, built on income tax returns. It measures how rents change in the municipality, not what they cost.
Births and deaths, 2024
status not stated · Source
- Births
- 210
- Deaths
- 151
- Natural change
- +59
By municipality of residence (the mother's, for births). Natural change is the difference between the two and leaves out people moving in or out.
Tourist dwellings, May 2026
final · Source
- Dwellings
- 931
- Beds
- 7,359
- Of all dwellings
- 5.94 %
Experimental INE statistic: homes listed on short-term rental platforms. It isn't a licence register and doesn't measure occupancy.
Registered unemployment · September 2026
status not stated · Source
- People registered as unemployed
- 384
- Compared with September 2025
- +2.9 %
Unemployed job seekers registered with SEPE on the last day of the month. It isn't the EPA unemployment rate, and it isn't divided by population because there is no official municipal denominator.
Recorded crime · January to June 2026
status not stated · Source
- Known offences
- 1,239
- Compared with June 2025
- +1 %
Criminal offences known to the police, accumulated since January. The Interior Ministry only publishes municipalities above 20,000 residents. More known offences don't necessarily mean more crime: reporting also plays a part.
Social Security affiliates · August 2026
status not stated · Source
- Affiliates
- 17,220
- Compared with August 2025
- +3.1 %
Affiliates on the last day of the month, assigned to the municipality of the employer's contribution account: it counts where people work, not where they live.
Education level · 2024
on January 1, 2024 · final · Source
- Primary or less
- 9%
- Lower secondary
- 29%
- Upper secondary or post-secondary
- 28%
- Higher education
- 33%
Share of residents aged 15+ by highest level completed, on 1 January. Each share is computed over the same census total.
Primary care
on December 31, 2025 · final · Source
- Health centres
- 2
- Local surgeries
- 1
Public health system centres in the municipality according to the Ministry of Health catalogue. Zero means there are none: the catalogue lists them all. Residents may be assigned to a centre in another municipality of their basic health area.